2 Comments

Sons of Anarchy Game coming to a console near you?

So there I was on Twitter, for once not on a Liverpool game day and I caught a glimpse of one comment that had me all getting all excited.  There were two tweets that led to this, and now all I have to hope for is that this isn’t ruined, as so many TV series/movie video games are.

The two tweets in question, both from @sutterink, were as follows:

This one: https://twitter.com/#!/sutterink/status/200252871311241217

SOA GAME UPDATE. had a great meeting with a big distributor yesterday. myself and everyone at FX and Fox is committed to making this happen.

and this one: https://twitter.com/#!/sutterink/status/200254195381714945

yes, we definitely wanna do a REAL game. console based. not some slapcrap browser MP thing. it’ll take awhile, but it’s the right way to go.

This is great news, I love the series, full of some awesome drama.  I always get that feeling of disappointment as you come to the last episode in the series, as you know you have to wait a while for the next one to come along.  To hear that they’re planning a video game is great news.

It’s also somewhat heartening to know that its going to be console based, and that they will take their time over it.  I would happily wait  for a decent biker game to come out, rather than see some quick offshoot done, that was clearly just done for the money.

There was one more tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/sutterink/status/200253756191948800

played the WD game; really wanted to love it…but it felt rushed and a bit unsatisfying. sorry. it needed the @glenmazzara magic touch.

The WD above is referring to the recent release of the Walking Dead game, which whilst having a reasonable story and some great emotional attachment to the characters does indeed feel like it was rushed out to cash in as soon as possible.  Of course, it’s one thing to say that you’re not going to rush your game out, but it’s an entirely different kettle of fish once other parties get involved, all hoping to get that cash cow rolling.

Still, until it comes out, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it will be one awesome game.  Let’s be honest though, how exactly could you mess up a video game, based on a TV series, that’s based on a motorcycle gang, with a plethora of drugs, weapons and women??  So good luck to all the guys involved in this, and when the time comes and you need somebody to test the game, feel free to get in touch, I’d be happy to help 😀

2 comments on “Sons of Anarchy Game coming to a console near you?

  1. Love SoA. Won’t hold my breath for a game based on it though. If anyone can take a great idea and completely f— it up, the gaming industry can.

  2. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

